THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

11 WEST 53 STREET, NEW YORK 19, N. Y.

TELEPHONE: CIRCLE 5-8900

490119 - 7

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

"HIDDEN TALENT COMPETITION" WINNERS IN ARCHITECTURE ANNOUNCED

The Museum of Modern Art and the Architectural Record, co-sponsors of a nationwide architectural competition for the purpose of discovering new talent, announced the winners of this competition, which excluded architects whose work has been published heretofore in national magazines, and which called for design of a memorial community center for a hypothetical town in the Middle West.

eran of the U. S. Army, who studied at the University of Southern California and took his B. S. in architecture at the Illinois Institute of Technology. For the past the has worked in the office of Ludwig Mies van der Rolle and at the same time continued graduate work at the Illinois Institute.

2nd Prize of \$750: G. J. Lee Everidge, 23-year-old Air Corps veteran, now studying at North Carolina State College where he is due to graduate in Architecture in June. Part Choctaw Indian, Everidge was raised in Oklahoma, where he studied at the University until a large group of faculty and students left to organize The New School of Design in North Carolina.

3rd Prize of \$500: Edward Chase Weren, 28 years old, graduate of Harvard before the war and, following his four years of Navy service, student at Harvard's Graduate School of Design, where he obtained his Bachelor of Architecture and won the AIA school medal. At present he is employed by Saarinen, Saarinen and Associates.

The following 10 competitors were awarded Honorable Mentions carrying a prize of \$50 each:

Herbert S. Johnson of Gainesville, Fla.

William R. Reed of Chicago, Ill.

Louis F. Mammier of Brooklyn, N. Y.

Clifford G. Foreman of Homestead, Pa.

Edward M. Fearney of the University of Florida.

Spero Paul Daltas of Boston, Mass.

1 useums - N.T. MOMA Poers Release

11

George E. Rafferty of St. Paul, Minn.

Elnor M. Hoops of Pontiac, Mich.

Mary Ellen Linberger of Brooklyn, N. Y.

James V. Hirsch of St. Paul, Minn.

Ten additional prizes, each consisting of a three-year subscription to the Architectural Record and a year's membership in the Museum of Modern Art, were awarded as follows:

Arthur C. Giorchino of New York City.

James Philip Storm of San Francisco, Cal.

Two Awards for Jules Gregory of New York City.

John David Parrish of New Orleans, La.

Claude M. Pendley, Jr. of Austin, Tex.

Charles A. Woehrl, Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn.

Harold C. Rose of Gainesville, Fla.

Vanu. Gopalji Bhuta of Bloomfield Hills, Mich.

James H. Hofman of Oakland, Cal.

The jury was composed of the internationally known architects, Joseph Hudnut, Chairman, Wallace K. Harrison, Morris Ketchum Jr., Ludwig Mies van der Rohe and Eero Saarinen. Philip Johnson, Acting Director of the Museum's Department of Architecture and Industrial Design, and Kenneth Stowell, Editor of the Architectural Record, acted as Professional Advisers. Winning designs will be put on exhibition at the Museum of Modern Art on February 2, and they will be published in the Architectural Record in March.

Additional information regarding the designs, the competition and the new talent discoveries will be issued at the time of the opening of the Museum exhibition.